Print at Apr 23, 2019 1:34:30 PM
Posts: 15   Pages: 2   [ Previous Page | 1 2 ]
View all posts in this thread on one page
Posted by hansmex at Feb 24, 2010 2:33:06 PM
Re: Export OBJ without floor
Emmanuel:

I created a completely new design part and exported it as OBJ. Immediately I edited it and indeed (to my surprise) there were only TWO f-lines before the first g-wall. I deleted those and I now have an imported object without a floor.

Thank you for your patience.

Hans

Posted by Puybaret at Apr 16, 2010 9:37:30 PM
Re: Export OBJ without floor
I just released a new plug-in that allows to copy the selection as a new piece of furniture into clipboard.
This plug-in is available at http://www.sweethome3d.eu/plugins/CopyAsNewFurniturePlugin-1.0.sh3p

Quick user guide:
- Install plug-in,
- Select in the plan the walls, rooms and furniture you want to group as a new piece of furniture,
- Choose Tools > Copy as new furniture,
- Choose Edit > Paste to paste the new piece of furniture in the existing home or an other home.

I hope it will satisfy your needs. smile

Note:
This plug-in was updated to version 1.1 on December 30, 2010
This plug-in was updated to version 1.2 on February 4, 2015
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer

Posted by hansmex at Apr 17, 2010 2:35:07 PM
Re: Export OBJ without floor
Emmanuel:

Nice feature, thanks a lot.

It's very nice to be able to export/use a model without the extra floor. However... it's still a bit buggy.

(1) It doesn't work correctly with the sh3d.jnlp version. First time I tried it asked for a browser location, the second time it dodn't work at all.

(2) The installed version of SH3D works correctly. However, it seems you changed something in the coding of the Export to OBJ format routine. The quality of the rendering of the exported object is much lower than the quality of the original. And the applied texture isn't correct on at least one side of the combined object. It doesn't matter whether you use Tools --> Copy or 3D View --> Export , both give exactly the same result.




Hans

Posted by Puybaret at Apr 17, 2010 3:03:37 PM
Re: Export OBJ without floor
Thank you for your tests. smile

(1) It doesn't work correctly with the sh3d.jnlp version. First time I tried it asked for a browser location, the second time it dodn't work at all.
This plug-in can't work with Java Web Start (JNLP) version of Sweet Home 3D. Normally, a message explaining this is supposed to appear, but I forgot to test that. I fixed it.


(2) it seems you changed something in the coding of the Export to OBJ format routine.
This bug already existed when you exported/imported manually (this new plug-in just automates this process).
It's the same bug as the one Yafeng reported.
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer

Posted by Puybaret at May 26, 2010 4:24:39 PM
Re: Export OBJ without floor
The bug about textures change mentioned above was fixed in the version 2.4.
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer

Posts: 15   Pages: 2   [ Previous Page | 1 2 ]