Print at Apr 18, 2019 5:46:44 PM View all posts in this thread on one page
Posted by bantar at Feb 7, 2017 6:32:24 PM
Print to Scale to PDF without Pagination
I'm able to change the scale and get the print to occur at the right size, but it always paginates. I'd like to print to a large format printer (that I do not own). Typically, one prints to PDF and then brings the PDF to a print shop for printing on their large format printer.

Is this possible?

Posted by Puybaret at Feb 7, 2017 9:19:54 PM
Re: Print to Scale to PDF without Pagination
I noticed recently that the paper size selected in page setup wasn't respected under Mac OS X. Under what system do you work?
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer

Posted by bantar at Feb 7, 2017 11:09:59 PM
Re: Print to Scale to PDF without Pagination
I'm using Windows. I do think it is using the selected paper size (letter) and thus I'm getting 30 pages of output. The desired output is all on a single page, especially since PDF can support such large sizes. I select the desired scale and then see what is output vs wanting to select a specific size. Once the file is printed to PDF, I can then let that program paginate if I need to print on smaller paper sizes.

I think my print store uses a printer such as HP DesignJet T830 which prints 36-in (914-mm) wide by very long prints (only limited by the length of paper on a spool). I recently printed a 30-in x 84-in print there. Likely, we need a new paper size possibly called Large Format with a paper size of, let's say, 36" x 72" or infinite even. Because I don't have such a printer attached, it is not a selectable size.

Posted by mark@structuresummaries.com at Apr 15, 2017 4:27:54 PM
Re: Print to Scale to PDF without Pagination
Has anyone figured a work around for this? I cannot print full scale drawings to large format either as it is not a selection. If I try to save as PDF then rescale in another program the quality is very bad and illegible

Posted by kraiger51 at Nov 15, 2017 8:23:27 PM
Re: Print to Scale to PDF without Pagination
Using a Mac, I also have this issue. Page format set to 24x36 but the print preview and actual output will paginate to 12 pages. How do I export to a single 24x36 PDF? Thanks.

Posted by Puybaret at Nov 16, 2017 7:59:31 AM
Re: Print to Scale to PDF without Pagination
What versions of Sweet Home 3D, Java and Mac OS X do you use?
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer

Posted by kontz_bern at Jun 22, 2018 10:37:41 AM
Re: Print to Scale to PDF without Pagination
I'm using it under Windows 10 and have never had issues with scaling objects so far. But I barely can imagine how all this thing works with macOS, so maybe it could be some sort of poor optimization, but it would be strange given that a majority of SH users are running it on Mac. You might well take a look on this through the editor like this one https://edit-pdf.pdffiller.com/ right after the import to PDF extension. I didn't do so with this software yet but with ArchiCAD and then it worked out fine for me

Posted by hsparks3 at Jan 23, 2019 12:59:19 AM
Re: Print to Scale to PDF without Pagination
I would like to once again ask the question started back in February of 2017. Has there been a solution to the Print to PDF function? As with all the others who have posted here, I am trying to send my output, formated in ARCH-D, to a .pdf and have it end up there as one page. As has been stated many times here, the function splits up the large drawings into multiple pages that can't easily be merged back together. Clearly, the function is using whatever default print driver is set up on the device because that's what it formats to no matter what you do. Also, it is clear that this is independent of OS. We have Windows, MAC and Linux represented here. If there is no fix, will there ever be one. This is unusable for me at this point. thx.

Posted by Dadv at Jan 23, 2019 4:16:30 PM
Re: Print to Scale to PDF without Pagination
I don't know if it would have a fix soon, but after all you can export your scene to svg and open it in a svg app (like inkscape for example) then, you can have all the print options of that app i think