Login Name  Password

Sweet Home 3D Forum

No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 7
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 731 times and has 6 replies Next Thread
jameskiwi

United Kingdom
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
How to create a 2D grid and contour map using the Terrain generator plugin

Hi,
I am a newbie and have almost completed my first house design using SH3D. A BIG thank you to the developer(s) and contributors on this forum that enabled me to achieve this by reading your tips and advice.

I try not to post a question that someone else has already answered.

I would like to create a 2D plan showing a scale grid and contour map (no shading or texture) of a landscape design. This printed plan would enable a contractor to mark out the groundworks on the site.

The Terrain generator plugin seems ideal for designing the landscape, however I cannot find a method to display just the contour map overlayed on the scale grid without any colour or texture being applied. Please note I do not want to change the 3D view just the plan view.

Any ideas or work arounds would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks
James
[Oct 30, 2023, 12:39:56 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Daniels118
Advanced Member

Italy
Re: How to create a 2D grid and contour map using the Terrain generator plugin

I think this isn't possible in SweetHome3D. There are plugins for Autocad and SketchUp that can do this, so you could export the terrain as object, import it into one of these programs, convert it to contours, export as image, and then import the image as texture in SweetHome3D and apply it to the terrain. If you flag the option to show the furniture in plan as top view instead of icons, the texture will be shown in the plan and you will see the countours.