Download

Online

Gallery

Blog

  Index  | Recent Threads  | List Attachments  | Search
 Welcome Guest  |  Register  |  Login
Login Name  Password
 

Sweet Home 3D Forum



No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 8
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 757 times and has 7 replies Next Thread
shmuelzon
Newbie



Israel
Joined: Dec 24, 2023
Post Count: 13
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Programmatically Changing Openings

Hey,

As a part of a plugin development, I want to close a door/window in the floor plan. I tried following the code that does this from the UI and my understanding is that modifying the piece of furniture's transformations (hinges and whatnot) also alters its overall dimensions and so, after transforming it, i.e., removing the existing transformations, I need to recalculate the size and position and update the piece of furniture accordingly. I tried to, basically, copy-paste the code from the ModelPreviewComponent class but I guess I'm missing something since, while the door does close, it stays at, more-or-less, the same original dimensions and becomes distorted.

In my code, I find the relevant furniture by traversing home.getFurniture() and, when needed, call a new shutTheDoor() function I created:

private void shutTheDoor(HomeDoorOrWindow furniture) {
ModelManager modelManager = ModelManager.getInstance();
HomePieceOfFurniture3D modelNode = new HomePieceOfFurniture3D(furniture, home);
BoundingBox oldBounds = modelManager.getBounds(modelNode);
System.out.println("oldBounds: " + oldBounds);
Point3d oldLower = new Point3d();
oldBounds.getLower(oldLower);
System.out.println("oldLower: " + oldLower);
Point3d oldUpper = new Point3d();
oldBounds.getUpper(oldUpper);
System.out.println("oldUpper: " + oldUpper);

setNodeTransformations(modelNode, null);

BoundingBox newBounds = modelManager.getBounds(modelNode);
System.out.println("newBounds: " + newBounds);
Point3d newLower = new Point3d();
newBounds.getLower(newLower);
System.out.println("newLower: " + newLower);
Point3d newUpper = new Point3d();
newBounds.getUpper(newUpper);
System.out.println("newUpper: " + newUpper);
furniture.setX(furniture.getX() + (float)(newUpper.x + newLower.x) / 2 - (float)(oldUpper.x + oldLower.x) / 2);
furniture.setY(furniture.getY() + (float)(newUpper.z + newLower.z) / 2 - (float)(oldUpper.z + oldLower.z) / 2);
furniture.setElevation(furniture.getElevation() + (float)(newLower.y - oldLower.y));
furniture.setWidth((float)(newUpper.x - newLower.x));
furniture.setDepth((float)(newUpper.z - newLower.z));
furniture.setHeight((float)(newUpper.y - newLower.y));
furniture.setModelTransformations(null);
}

private void setNodeTransformations(Node node, Transformation [] transformations) {
if (node instanceof Group) {
if (node instanceof TransformGroup
&& node.getUserData() instanceof String
&& ((String)node.getUserData()).endsWith(ModelManager.DEFORMABLE_TRANSFORM_GROUP_SUFFIX)) {
System.out.println("Setting new transform for " + (String)node.getUserData());
TransformGroup transformGroup = (TransformGroup)node;
transformGroup.setTransform(new Transform3D());
if (transformations != null) {
String transformationName = (String)node.getUserData();
transformationName = transformationName.substring(0, transformationName.length() - ModelManager.DEFORMABLE_TRANSFORM_GROUP_SUFFIX.length());
for (Transformation transformation : transformations) {
if (transformationName.equals(transformation.getName())) {
System.out.println("XXX");
float [][] matrix = transformation.getMatrix();
Matrix4f transformMatrix = new Matrix4f();
transformMatrix.setRow(0, matrix[0]);
transformMatrix.setRow(1, matrix[1]);
transformMatrix.setRow(2, matrix[2]);
transformMatrix.setRow(3, new float [] {0, 0, 0, 1});
transformGroup.setTransform(new Transform3D(transformMatrix));
}
}
}
}
Enumeration<?> enumeration = ((Group)node).getAllChildren();
while (enumeration.hasMoreElements()) {
setNodeTransformations((Node)enumeration.nextElement(), transformations);
}
}
}


These are the old and new bounds, as printed from the above:
oldBounds: Bounding box: Lower=492.4598841340258 0.0 -2029.357666015625 Upper=583.4937291472243 208.5 -1943.9011759098528
newBounds: Bounding box: Lower=492.02176349361724 0.0 -2029.3576131526472 Upper=583.4937291472243 208.5 -1943.9011759098528

As can be seen, they are very similar.

If it helps, the position and dimensions of the door when it's open (the starting state) is:
X= 538, Y= -1986.6, Elevation= 0, Angle= 270, Width= 85.5, Depth= 91, Height= 208.5

When closing it via the "Modify openings..." UI, the position and size become:
X= 507.5, Y= -1982.6, Elevation= 0, Angle= 270, Width= 77.3, Depth= 30.9, Height= 208.5

However, closing it with the above code, results with:
X= 537.8, Y= -1986.6, Elevation= 0, Angle= 270, Width= 91.5, Depth= 85.5, Height= 208.5


Can anyone please point me in the right direction for how to properly close (and later restore) doors/windows?

Thanks in advance!
[Sep 28, 2024, 5:18:04 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Daniels118
Advanced Member
Member's Avatar

Italy
Joined: Nov 17, 2021
Post Count: 439
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Programmatically Changing Openings

I have interest on this subject, so far I've been able to open doors in the 3D view, but I wasn't able to find a way to consolidate the changes in the plan.
If this is enough for your use case, you can have a look at the source code of the Pan3dView plugin. There is also a video on my YouTube channel which shows the feature in action.
[Sep 29, 2024, 7:56:31 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
shmuelzon
Newbie



Israel
Joined: Dec 24, 2023
Post Count: 13
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Programmatically Changing Openings

I wasn't able to find a way to consolidate the changes in the plan

What do you mean by this? That the openings are only changed in the 3D view but nothing is changed in the plan?

In my case, it changes both the plan and the 3D view but the door/windows become distorted because their proportions don't match anymore.

If this is enough for your use case, you can have a look at the source code of the Pan3dView plugin

I need this change to be applied when rendering an image. I think that a new scene is built for the renderers and not using the same objects in the 3D view but I might be off here. If I am, then it might be enough to only modify the 3D view and leave the plan intact.
[Sep 29, 2024, 10:42:45 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Keet
Advanced Member
Member's Avatar

Netherlands
Joined: Apr 8, 2022
Post Count: 1065
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Programmatically Changing Openings

In my case, it changes both the plan and the 3D view but the door/windows become distorted because their proportions don't match anymore.
Your problem might be related to a bug I reported with wrong deformations in the 3Dview with the Pan3DView plugin: http://www.sweethome3d.com/support/forum/view...ead,5072_offset,100#61531
One thing I figured out that might help you with finding the cause is to place an object horizontal and one diagonal and see the difference in how the deformations show. You will also have to check chained deformations (deformation on a deformed part).
----------------------------------------
Dodecagon.nl
750+ 3D models, manuals, and projects
[Sep 29, 2024, 12:11:24 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
GeoffS
Newbie



Australia
Joined: Sep 1, 2024
Post Count: 6
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Programmatically Changing Openings

My observations have found that a door opened with the Pan3DView plugin will not render open. A cupboard with 2 doors, the left opened in the Modify Deformations Dialog and the right door opened with the Pan3DView plugin will render with the right door closed.
[Sep 29, 2024, 12:47:41 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
GeoffS
Newbie



Australia
Joined: Sep 1, 2024
Post Count: 6
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Programmatically Changing Openings

In all fairness to Daniels118 his plugin does state that the Edit openings is beta and the option to have access to this feature in its infancy is greatly appreciated.
[Sep 29, 2024, 12:59:40 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Keet
Advanced Member
Member's Avatar

Netherlands
Joined: Apr 8, 2022
Post Count: 1065
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Programmatically Changing Openings

In all fairness to Daniels118 his plugin does state that the Edit openings is beta and the option to have access to this feature in its infancy is greatly appreciated.
Correct. That's why I stated in a follow-up post that's it's no problem, no hurry to fix. I mainly use the 3Dview deformations to test that deformations work. That they are distorted with wrong deformations is no problem as long as I can see that they work in the order they are supposed to.
----------------------------------------
Dodecagon.nl
750+ 3D models, manuals, and projects
[Sep 29, 2024, 1:12:27 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
shmuelzon
Newbie



Israel
Joined: Dec 24, 2023
Post Count: 13
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Programmatically Changing Openings

My observations have found that a door opened with the Pan3DView plugin will not render open. A cupboard with 2 doors, the left opened in the Modify Deformations Dialog and the right door opened with the Pan3DView plugin will render with the right door closed.

Thanks for that, then I need to make it work in the plan...
[Sep 29, 2024, 2:13:01 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Show Printable Version of Thread  Post new Thread

  Get Sweet Home 3D at SourceForge.net. Fast, secure and Free Open Source software downloads  
© Copyright 2024 Space Mushrooms - All rights reserved