Login Name  Password

Sweet Home 3D Forum

No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 8
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 5111 times and has 7 replies Next Thread
Zeheng

Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
smile Happy to join the Sweet Home 3D Group

Hello, I'm a computer science postgraduate student in Australia and just start to learn free open source project. Because I was working on Java Swing and OpenGL projects in the past years, what I really want to find is a graphical project which is active and well organised, and certainly is written in Java. Fortunately Sweet Home 3D is a perfect project for me to begin the study of open source project.

Before going too deep into the development, I have some general questions:
-- After reviewing questions and problems launched in the forums, I got that the project manager is the only Java developer working on the code. But according to the member list I found from sourceforge.com, there is one or two people who takes the design work. Do they have the right to finalise the code or still only the project manager takes this job? How is it organised?

-- I found there is a CVS statistics on sourceforge.com, I also found there is a tracking system which collects plug-ins contributions and bug reports. In my past projects, the develop team only used one of the file management systems. So how do the two file management system work in the Sweet Home 3D project?

-- It is said the Sweet Home 3D project matches a case study in a French book written by the project manager. I haven't read that book, but I guess there might be some other projects described in that book. Does this project interact with any other projects?

And here are some technical questions: