Login Name  Password

Sweet Home 3D Forum

No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 4
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 4401 times and has 3 replies Next Thread
klgan

Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Do I need to be an architect to design house?

Hi,

I told an acquaintance that I could help design the house using SH3D, for FREE, I just like the challenge to work on real project.

Instead of thanks I got a WARNING!

I was told that I should not do this unless I am an architect. I could be risking people's life. How if the building I designed collapse?!!

The argument does make sense. I am not an architect, how would I know if my design is strong or stable?

Now I'm disappointed and worry :-(. Worry, because I have just complete a design for my friend.

If I share the file here, could someone help checking it, to see if the design is okay?

Thanks.

klgan
[May 31, 2013, 6:47:06 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
okh
Advanced Member

Re: Do I need to be an architect to design house?

It depends. I did, once, design an extension to a house and had it built with the help of a master builder who knew the structural requirements intimately. A friend I know, built a similar construction where a wall did indeed collapse.

You should also be aware of possible (other) legal requirements (e.g. Norwegian requirement of 5 m2 storage space in a normal home etc etc etc), which may be required before you can live in the house.

And, there may be other points where a professional can save you a lot of money (ensuring that plumbing runs directly from one floor to another - I know a horror story of a bathroom on top of a living room that could never me used for lack of plumbing).