Login Name  Password

Sweet Home 3D Forum

No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 4
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 6056 times and has 3 replies Next Thread
harbinger

US
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Room Elevation & Curved Boundaries

As an architectural hobbyist, i design a lot of houses that have sunken rooms, esp. with rounded step-downs. I love this program but this of course is a limitation.

I shouldn't have to create a new level that's only 6 or 12 inches tall for a sunken room. Workarounds are great if there's no other way.
I think though that if you give rooms another attribute - "floor elevation" - this might solve the problem more easily (well... not more easily for the programmer biggrin ).

However, this won't completely help my problem. I could create a "room" for the sunken part of a den, but often the steps are curved, so i would also need to have the option to define curves for room boundaries.

I hope this request makes your FREE application even better than what it is. I found it after window-shopping at the "Sourceforge Mall" biggrin and i had been using Gmax (which actually has TOO many features for my purposes). I've only sat down for one session withe SH3D after thoroughly reading the documentation, and there are a few things that can be improved but overall it's an absolute delight! wink
[Feb 27, 2014, 6:19:52 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
okh
Advanced Member

Re: Room Elevation & Curved Boundaries

...sunken rooms
Not entirely sure how such a function could be easier than just creating a level. If you think about negative elevation for objects, this has been proposed but I had the impression that Puybaret has yet to be convinced ...
... steps are curved, ...option to define curves for room boundaries.