Login Name  Password

Sweet Home 3D Forum

No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 7
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 5058 times and has 6 replies Next Thread
Cathony

Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Can't Open or Save Homes

I installed the software the other day, and I am unable to open or save homes. I've tried both the installer and the web start versions, I've tried various folders, I have write access everywhere on the computer, I tried running as an administrator, I tried downloading a file to open from the gallery, and nothing works.

The error I get when opening simply gives the file name and says "Can't Open Home".

The error I get when saving is as follows:
Can't Save home in
"C:\Program Files\Sweet Home 3D\sh3d\1.sh3d"
RecorderException: Can't save home C:\Program Files\Sweet Home 3D\sh3d\1.sh3d
java.io.IOException: Access is Denied

As I said, I've tried running as an admin, and I definitely have write access. I've tried both the installed and web start versions. I know it can't be a Java issue, as the online version lets me export as a sh3d file, and also lets me import one. Yet every downloaded version I've tried cannot access files at all.

I'm currently running Windows 7 Professional 64-bit, and in case I forgot to mention it, the UAC is disabled. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
[Jul 8, 2014, 9:06:05 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Puybaret
Expert

France
Re: Can't Open or Save Homes

If you have problems to open and save, it could be related to Windows temporary folder, or the work subfolders in C:\Users\user\AppData\Roaming\eTeks\Sweet Home 3D.
Please, run the Java Web Start version with the Java console displayed.