Login Name  Password

Sweet Home 3D Forum

No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 6
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 5450 times and has 5 replies Next Thread
Anatosuchus

UK
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
confused Modifying Staircase to Prevent Floor Hole

Hi,

I'm trying to use the standard square spiral staircase model in a design, but it's cutting an unnecessary hole in the floor above where there is actually plenty of headroom.

I've got no experience with modelling tools (and don't have any right now), but I'm happy to hack about in the file if there's a way to remove (or shorten) the hole-making template in the design.

Is there any handy guide to the content of the .obj file format, or can anyone point me at which chunk of the file defines the cut-out parameters?

Thanks!

Matt.
[Feb 10, 2017, 11:06:41 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Miker777
Advanced Member

UK
Re: Modifying Staircase to Prevent Floor Hole

Hi Anatosuchus.
I recently had a similar issue, and, like yourself, wanted to find a way to use the staircase even though the holes generated in the 1st and 2nd floors were huge. What i did was to create rooms to the shape of the area needed, then exported and imported it, once positioned (magnetism off) i reduced its thickness by 50%, copied and pasted another and positioned it in exactly the same position, with that done i then raised 1 of them, so the two appeared laminated, textured the upper 1 to match my floor and the lower 1 to match the ceiling below.
Hope this helps.
Mike
[Feb 10, 2017, 4:24:45 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Puybaret
Expert

France