Features

Download

Online

Gallery

Blog

  Index  | Recent Threads  | List Attachments  | Help  | Search
 Welcome Guest  |  Register  |  Login
Login Name  Password
 

Sweet Home 3D Forum



No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 5
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 3986 times and has 4 replies Next Thread
Indigo30
Newbie
Member's Avatar

Florida, USA
Joined: Jun 17, 2014
Post Count: 3
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Help! I raised the elevation of my house but can't raise the walls.

I realize now that I messed up by starting my house design at elevation zero, when I really needed the garage to be at level 0 and the house raised up a few steps.

First I tried setting the elevation of the garage walls at -30" but that didn't work.

Then I grouped everything except the garage, and changed the elevation to 30". Great! That worked, except the walls stayed on the ground and I haven't been able to find any way to raise them.

Can anyone give me some advice? Sweet Home 3D is such a wonderful program, and I have learned a lot, but unfortunately I started doing a plan without reading tutorials first.

[Mar 5, 2017 2:01:03 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
bdfd
Advanced Member
Member's Avatar

FRANCE
Joined: Mar 29, 2014
Post Count: 1485
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Help! I raised the elevation of my house but can't raise the walls.

Simply add a new level with a height = 0.30 cm and to update
the existing level with a height + 0.30 cm...

smile
----------------------------------------
with W10 64b 1709 (16.299.125) / Core i7-4790 - RAM 16 MB / GeForce GTX770 2 Go Full HD
sh3d 5.6 with java 1.8.0_144 & java3D 1.6.0
[Mar 5, 2017 6:10:01 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Indigo30
Newbie
Member's Avatar

Florida, USA
Joined: Jun 17, 2014
Post Count: 3
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Help! I raised the elevation of my house but can't raise the walls.

Thanks much for the quick response. I don't understand why I needed to create a new level. But I did change the base elevation for my first floor to 30" and it did the trick, except all of my furniture, doors, windows, everything is elevated above the floor level.

I tried grouping everything and changing the elevation to 0 but it is still all elevated. I can do one piece at a time, or I guess group a few things to change them... unless you know of an easier way.

Another question... is there a way to move things from one level to another? I made the mistake of adding roofs and dormers and porches, etc. to the 1st floor level at higher elevations instead of using different levels. Also have some furniture on the 1st floor that needs to be on the 2nd floor.

Thanks, Marsha

[Mar 5, 2017 7:56:40 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
VeroniQ
Advanced Member



France
Joined: Mar 3, 2015
Post Count: 268
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Help! I raised the elevation of my house but can't raise the walls.

Indigo30, maybe Emmanuel's answer in this thread can help you.
[Mar 5, 2017 8:43:34 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Indigo30
Newbie
Member's Avatar

Florida, USA
Joined: Jun 17, 2014
Post Count: 3
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Help! I raised the elevation of my house but can't raise the walls.

smile Thanks, VeroniQ. That was helpful, and it led me to the User Guide where I saw that I can copy and paste between levels. I hope other new users will plan ahead and create levels starting with the actual ground level instead of the main floor, if the main floor is a few steps up. I realized too late that the zero elevation level is what shows the ground in 3D view. Obviously, I have a lot to learn, but am in a hurry to get basic plans and elevations done for permitting.
[Mar 6, 2017 2:11:20 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Show Printable Version of Thread  Post new Thread

    Get Sweet Home 3D at SourceForge.net. Fast, secure and Free Open Source software downloads
   
© Copyright 2006-2017 eTeks - All rights reserved