Features

Download

Online

Gallery

Blog

  Index  | Recent Threads  | List Attachments  | Help  | Search
 Welcome Guest  |  Register  |  Login
Login Name  Password
 

Sweet Home 3D Forum



No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 8
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 1560 times and has 7 replies Next Thread
platax
Newbie




Joined: May 3, 2012
Post Count: 8
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
applause calculating outside surface of all walls

Hello,

I want to insulate my house from outside.

I need to calculate all outside wall surfaces, and all doors and windows perimeter.

Since I already made a whole plan using SH3D, is there an easy way to do this ?

Thanks
[May 18, 2017 9:36:37 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
bdfd
Advanced Member
Member's Avatar

FRANCE
Joined: Mar 29, 2014
Post Count: 1468
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: calculating outside surface of all walls

Hello,
I want to insulate my house from outside.
I need to calculate all outside wall surfaces, and all doors and windows perimeter.
Since I already made a whole plan using SH3D, is there an easy way to do this ?
Thanks
Hi,

No ! sad

Just manually put a fictive room in the outside walls for the first part and multiply by the height.

For the second part (doors and Windows) take a calculator and substract the result from the first part. biggrin

talk to the hand
----------------------------------------
with W10 64b 1709 (16.299.19) / Core i7-4790 - RAM 16 MB / GeForce GTX770 2 Go Full HD
sh3d 5.6 with java 1.8.0_144 & java3D 1.6.0
[May 19, 2017 5:51:30 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
okh
Advanced Member




Joined: May 12, 2013
Post Count: 1286
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: calculating outside surface of all walls

Actually, there is an easy way: Plugin #5 ComputeWallsSurface will calculate for you (albeit with some caveats mentioned on plugin download page and discussions such as thread 7516: Calculating the surface of the wall).

If you take into account that it measures the inside of the wall, it should do pretty much what you want if you install the plugin, restart sh3d, select the outer walls and run the plugin from the tools menu.

Good luck with your insulation project.

ok
[May 19, 2017 8:41:11 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
bdfd
Advanced Member
Member's Avatar

FRANCE
Joined: Mar 29, 2014
Post Count: 1468
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: calculating outside surface of all walls

Actually, there is an easy way: Plugin #5 ComputeWallsSurface will calculate for you (albeit with some caveats mentioned on plugin download page and discussions such as thread 7516: Calculating the surface of the wall).

If you take into account that it measures the inside of the wall, it should do pretty much what you want if you install the plugin, restart sh3d, select the outer walls and run the plugin from the tools menu.
Good luck with your insulation project.
ok
Great, I didn't know this plugin ! applause

But there is a problem, this plugin calculates surface from the middle of the walls. sad
Platax asks us an outside walls surface... it's not the same ! tongue

So, the lonely solution is manual calculations... crying


See below the demo (height of the walls = 1.0 m) :



See lines and distance with the calulated surface...
----------------------------------------
with W10 64b 1709 (16.299.19) / Core i7-4790 - RAM 16 MB / GeForce GTX770 2 Go Full HD
sh3d 5.6 with java 1.8.0_144 & java3D 1.6.0
----------------------------------------
[Edit 2 times, last edit by bdfd at May 19, 2017 10:44:24 AM]
[May 19, 2017 10:08:32 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
okh
Advanced Member




Joined: May 12, 2013
Post Count: 1286
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: calculating outside surface of all walls

Yes, if you read my post I mentioned that. platax wants to insulate from the outside. I do not know about you, but the three times I have re-insulated a house, I put the insulation inside the wall. In my experience that works quite well. Perfect accuracy is an illusion anyway as some surplus insulation (waste) must be calculated.

platax - you probably know this - but there are insulation calculators online that will help you estimate different insulation types: acoustic, moisture, wind, thermal etc.

ok
[May 19, 2017 11:19:22 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
bdfd
Advanced Member
Member's Avatar

FRANCE
Joined: Mar 29, 2014
Post Count: 1468
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: calculating outside surface of all walls

If you want know distance of outside walls, it's false. sad
If you want know distance of inside walls, it's False too (in a house already made) !!! crying

Conclusion : Don't use this plugin. sick
----------------------------------------
with W10 64b 1709 (16.299.19) / Core i7-4790 - RAM 16 MB / GeForce GTX770 2 Go Full HD
sh3d 5.6 with java 1.8.0_144 & java3D 1.6.0
----------------------------------------
[Edit 1 times, last edit by bdfd at May 19, 2017 2:25:02 PM]
[May 19, 2017 2:00:28 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
okh
Advanced Member




Joined: May 12, 2013
Post Count: 1286
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: calculating outside surface of all walls

And if you want to know the inside of the wall, for, say, insulation?

While I do not share bdfd's concerns about the plugin using measurements from the centre of the wall, that is easy enough to adjust for.

Nevertheless, put the plugin trough a little test. And while it behaved well on one or two sloping walls with a few cut-outs, it seems to have problems with many walls/openings - at least, I could not get the results I expected (but that may be me). So, I might still use the plugin, but I would double check the result.

ok
[May 19, 2017 5:00:32 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
bdfd
Advanced Member
Member's Avatar

FRANCE
Joined: Mar 29, 2014
Post Count: 1468
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: calculating outside surface of all walls

In a house already made, simply 'very very very' difficult ! sick

A 'not easy' solution :
1. Insert a fictious wall with thickness equal to 0,001 m
2. Place it with the dimensions of the real outside wall
3. Select it and use the plugin.

Repeat 1-2-3 for each wall. biggrin

Good luck... wink
----------------------------------------
with W10 64b 1709 (16.299.19) / Core i7-4790 - RAM 16 MB / GeForce GTX770 2 Go Full HD
sh3d 5.6 with java 1.8.0_144 & java3D 1.6.0
----------------------------------------
[Edit 1 times, last edit by bdfd at May 19, 2017 5:59:01 PM]
[May 19, 2017 5:39:29 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Show Printable Version of Thread  Post new Thread

    Get Sweet Home 3D at SourceForge.net. Fast, secure and Free Open Source software downloads
   
© Copyright 2006-2017 eTeks - All rights reserved