Features

Download

Online

Gallery

Blog

  Index  | Recent Threads  | List Attachments  | Help  | Search
 Welcome Guest  |  Register  |  Login
Login Name  Password
 

Sweet Home 3D Forum



No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 4
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 1745 times and has 3 replies Next Thread
DerekvG
Newbie



Belgium
Joined: Apr 19, 2017
Post Count: 6
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
New SH3D install doesn't work

Downloaded latest version SH3D 6.1.2 from this website and expanded archive in /etc/sh3d on my ubuntu 18.1.2 LTS laptop

Couldn't start the application nor could the java version.

Then moved the directory to /usr/share/sh3d
apllication doesn't start

a) what did I do wrong /omit to do during install
b) is there a verbose/debug mode form terminal such that i can see error messages?
[Apr 22, 2019 11:59:14 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
DerekvG
Newbie



Belgium
Joined: Apr 19, 2017
Post Count: 6
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: New SH3D install doesn't work

starting the application from the command line in terminal results in Command not found

d---@---Ubuntu:/usr/share/SweetHome3D-6.1.2$ dir
COPYING.TXT THIRDPARTY-LICENSE-ITEXT.TXT
jre8 THIRDPARTY-LICENSE-JAVA3D.TXT
lib THIRDPARTY-LICENSE-JAVA.TXT
LICENSE.TXT THIRDPARTY-LICENSE-JEKSPARSER.TXT
SweetHome3D THIRDPARTY-LICENSE-JMF.HTML
SweetHome3DIcon.png THIRDPARTY-LICENSE-SUNFLOW.TXT
SweetHome3D-Java3D-1_5_2 THIRDPARTY-LICENSE-TANGO.TXT
THIRDPARTY-LICENSE-BATIK.TXT THIRDPARTY-LICENSE-VECTORGRAPHICS.TXT
d---@---Ubuntu:/usr/share/SweetHome3D-6.1.2$ SweetHome3D
SweetHome3D: command not found
[Apr 22, 2019 12:09:34 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
dorin
Advanced Member
Member's Avatar

Romania
Joined: Apr 24, 2014
Post Count: 197
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: New SH3D install doesn't work

Wrong is the place where You expand the archive.
You don't need to be root to run this program.
Expand it as user in Your home folder (autodetect folder option);
In the newly created folder double click on SweetHome3D file and chose Execute.
----------------------------------------
A computer program does what you tell it to do, not what you want it to do. Murphy's Law (Greer's Third Law)
When all else fails, read the instructions.Murphy's Law
[Apr 22, 2019 4:20:12 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Puybaret
Expert
Member's Avatar

France
Joined: Nov 7, 2005
Post Count: 6722
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: New SH3D install doesn't work

From the command line, you should add ./ in front of SweetHome3D :
./SweetHome3D

----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer
[Apr 22, 2019 7:29:36 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Show Printable Version of Thread  Post new Thread

    Get Sweet Home 3D at SourceForge.net. Fast, secure and Free Open Source software downloads
   
© Copyright 2006-2019 eTeks - All rights reserved