Login Name  Password

Sweet Home 3D Forum

No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 2
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 1498 times and has 1 reply Next Thread
expangea

Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
"Save and compress" intended usage - just for webserving?

Hi

I am new to this software but I like it so much.
One thing I like a lot is the possibility of viewing the model as a webpage.

That said, I am a bit lost with the different options for this.

There is a "Export to html5" plugin, and there is also a "Sweet Home 3D JS Viewer" which we can use to show .sh3d files in a webserver.

1) What are their pros and cons?
Is one option preferrable to the other?
Which one is better choice (easier to launch without problems) if I want to send my home model to someone with very limited computer skills?

2) For JS viewer, the README.TXT says us to use "File > Save and compress" menu item to limit SH3D file size.
This looks reasonable, to reduce download times.

But, other than that, is there any advantage/disadvantage in compressing our SH3D files?
What is the impact of using "Save" vs "Save and compress" in the day to day work with our plans?
Why files are not being compressed by default when we save?
Is compressed version slower because it has to be unzipped?

Thanks a lot in advance
[Dec 17, 2019, 10:04:40 AM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Puybaret
Expert

France
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: "Save and compress" intended usage - just for webserving?