Login Name  Password

Sweet Home 3D Forum

No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 5
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 168 times and has 4 replies Next Thread
StefanH

Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Color of imported furniture is always grey

Hi,

I am new to Sweet Home 3D, and I would like to ask a question regarding the color of imported furniture.
My goal is to create a kitchen in my CAD package, and import this as furniture into SH3D.
Unfortunately the furniture is always grey after it is imported.

As an example I created a random green part in my CAD software, and exported it as a Wavefront file.
When I open the .obj file in the default Windows viewer, it is indeed green. The green is also in the .mtl file. Based on this I would think that nothing went wrong during the export from my CAD package.

But when I import it as furniture into SH3D, the part is always grey instead of green.
What am I doing wrong?
This is the mtl file:

newmtl DEFAULT_MTL
Kd 0.635 0.686 0.749

newmtl MTL0
Kd 0.000 1.000 0.000

I tried changing it to this, as I thought that might make the part red, but nothing changed unfortunately:

newmtl DEFAULT_MTL
Kd 0.900 0.100 0.100

newmtl MTL0
Kd 0.000 1.000 0.000

Looking forward to any advice!
[May 20, 2024, 3:43:51 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Keet
Advanced Member

Netherlands
Re: Color of imported furniture is always grey

Several possible causes:
1. The "usemtl <materialname> in the obj file has no reference in the mtl file to "newmtl <materialname>.
2. The importer can't find the mtl file. The obj file should have a line close to the top with "mtllib <filename.mtl>" and "filename.mtl" should be in the same directory as the obj file.