Features

Download

Online

Gallery

Blog

  Index  | Recent Threads  | List Attachments  | Help  | Search
 Welcome Guest  |  Register  |  Login
Login Name  Password
 

Sweet Home 3D Forum



No member browsing this thread
Thread Status: Active
Total posts in this thread: 15
Posts: 15   Pages: 2   [ Previous Page | 1 2 ]
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Post new Thread
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 25726 times and has 14 replies Next Thread
hansmex
Advanced Member
Member's Avatar

Netherlands
Joined: Sep 26, 2009
Post Count: 3064
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Export OBJ without floor

Emmanuel:

I created a completely new design part and exported it as OBJ. Immediately I edited it and indeed (to my surprise) there were only TWO f-lines before the first g-wall. I deleted those and I now have an imported object without a floor.

Thank you for your patience.

Hans
[Feb 24, 2010 2:33:06 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Puybaret
Expert
Member's Avatar

France
Joined: Nov 7, 2005
Post Count: 5837
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Export OBJ without floor

I just released a new plug-in that allows to copy the selection as a new piece of furniture into clipboard.
This plug-in is available at http://www.sweethome3d.eu/plugins/CopyAsNewFurniturePlugin-1.0.sh3p

Quick user guide:
- Install plug-in,
- Select in the plan the walls, rooms and furniture you want to group as a new piece of furniture,
- Choose Tools > Copy as new furniture,
- Choose Edit > Paste to paste the new piece of furniture in the existing home or an other home.

I hope it will satisfy your needs. smile

Note:
This plug-in was updated to version 1.1 on December 30, 2010
This plug-in was updated to version 1.2 on February 4, 2015
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer
----------------------------------------
[Edit 2 times, last edit by Puybaret at May 11, 2016 10:33:26 AM]
[Apr 16, 2010 9:37:30 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest    http://www.eteks.com [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
hansmex
Advanced Member
Member's Avatar

Netherlands
Joined: Sep 26, 2009
Post Count: 3064
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Export OBJ without floor

Emmanuel:

Nice feature, thanks a lot.

It's very nice to be able to export/use a model without the extra floor. However... it's still a bit buggy.

(1) It doesn't work correctly with the sh3d.jnlp version. First time I tried it asked for a browser location, the second time it dodn't work at all.

(2) The installed version of SH3D works correctly. However, it seems you changed something in the coding of the Export to OBJ format routine. The quality of the rendering of the exported object is much lower than the quality of the original. And the applied texture isn't correct on at least one side of the combined object. It doesn't matter whether you use Tools --> Copy or 3D View --> Export , both give exactly the same result.




Hans
[Apr 17, 2010 2:35:07 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Puybaret
Expert
Member's Avatar

France
Joined: Nov 7, 2005
Post Count: 5837
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Export OBJ without floor

Thank you for your tests. smile

(1) It doesn't work correctly with the sh3d.jnlp version. First time I tried it asked for a browser location, the second time it dodn't work at all.
This plug-in can't work with Java Web Start (JNLP) version of Sweet Home 3D. Normally, a message explaining this is supposed to appear, but I forgot to test that. I fixed it.


(2) it seems you changed something in the coding of the Export to OBJ format routine.
This bug already existed when you exported/imported manually (this new plug-in just automates this process).
It's the same bug as the one Yafeng reported.
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer
[Apr 17, 2010 3:03:37 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest    http://www.eteks.com [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Puybaret
Expert
Member's Avatar

France
Joined: Nov 7, 2005
Post Count: 5837
Status: Offline
Reply to this Post  Reply with Quote 
Re: Export OBJ without floor

The bug about textures change mentioned above was fixed in the version 2.4.
----------------------------------------
Emmanuel Puybaret, Sweet Home 3D developer
[May 26, 2010 4:24:39 PM] Show Printable Version of Post    View Member Profile    Send Private Message    Hidden to Guest    http://www.eteks.com [Link] Report threatening or abusive post: please login first  Go to top 
Posts: 15   Pages: 2   [ Previous Page | 1 2 ]
[ Jump to Last Post ]
Show Printable Version of Thread  Post new Thread

    Get Sweet Home 3D at SourceForge.net. Fast, secure and Free Open Source software downloads
   
© Copyright 2006-2017 eTeks - All rights reserved